In Any Case. . . The Moon

Once, I went for walks every night, and always for company I had the moon. Now, with a baby in my life, those nightly constitutionals have come to an end, and rarely do I see the moon. Its existence to me came to be much like the planets–I know they’re there, but never see them. Upon seeing the moon again, I jotted down this poem in my writing notebook.

The moon

which I haven’t seen in weeks

still rises

waxes wanes

still shines

over all of us

abed asleep

or in the street

stumbling drunkenly

or perhaps just lost

and looking for a home

that isn’t there anymore.

Just the moon

which I haven’t seen

in weeks.

Leave a Reply

